Chattanooga
Kennel Club, Inc.

Legislation

Keep Up to date on local and national Canine Legislation
 

_____________________________________________________
 
Important Tennessee Legislation Alerts

Please be advised that Tennessee Senate Bill 283 / House Bill 0120 may be amended to include "commercial dog breeder regulations".  The Senate and House schedules and locations for voting on the legislation can be seen here: http://wapp.capitol.tn.gov/apps/BillInfo/default.aspx?BillNumber=SB0283&GA=110

Tuesday March 21st  Senate votes

Wednesday March 22nd House Votes

Concerned dog owners are urged to immediately contact committee members and respectfully ask that they do not advance any amendments regarding dog breeding until impacted citizens have the opportunity to review and comment on them. See contact information, below.

The AKC understands that the amendment to Senate Bill 283 will contain language similar to Senate Bill 282, which seeks to regulate, inspect, and require payment of unknown fees by owners of 10 intact female dogs "kept for the purpose of breeding". Under this bill, a person who owns 10 intact females and sells a single puppy could be regulated as a “commercial” breeder.  

Amended language has not been shared with stakeholders or posted to the state legislative website for review and comment by the citizens who would be affected by this legislation. 

What you can do:

Contact committee members and respectfully ask them to vote “no” on any bill that is amended to include dog breeder regulation.  

Sen. Jack Johnson, Chair, (615) 741-2495, sen.jack.johnson@capitol.tn.gov

Sen. Mark Green, 1st Vice Chair, (615) 741-2374, sen.mark.green@capitol.tn.gov

Sen. Kerry Roberts, 2nd Vice Chair, (615) 741-4499, sen.kerry.roberts@capitol.tn.gov

Sen. Dolores R. Gresham, (615) 741-2368, sen.dolores.gresham@capitol.tn.gov

Sen. Bill Ketron, (615) 741-6853, sen.bill.ketron@capitol.tn.gov

Sen. Reginald Tate, (615) 741-2509, sen.reginald.tate@capitol.tn.gov

Sen. Jim Tracy, (615) 741-1066, sen.jim.tracy@capitol.tn.gov 

Sen. Bo Watson, (615) 741-3227,sen.bo.watson@capitol.tn.gov

Sen. Ken Yager, (615) 741-1449, sen.ken.yager@capitol.tn.gov

For more information, please contact AKC Government Relations at doglaw@akc.org or 919-816-3645.




Tennessee Legislative Contacts

Speaker of the House Beth Harwell, (615) 741-0709 speaker.beth.harwell@capitol.tn.gov

House Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee Members:

Rep. Curtis Halford, Chairman, (615) 741-7478, rep.curtis.halford@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Andy H. Holt, Vice Chairman (615) 741-7847, rep.andy.holt@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. David Byrd, (615) 741-2190, rep.david.byrd@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. G.A. Hardaway, (615) 741-5625, rep.ga.hardaway@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. David B. Hawk, (615) 741-7482, rep.david.hawk@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Bud Hulsey, (615) 741-2886, rep.bud.hulsey@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Jamie H. Jenkins, (615) 741-6890, rep.jamie.jenkins@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Ron Lollar, (615) 741-7084, rep.ron.lollar@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Pat Marsh, (615) 741-6824, rep.pat.marsh@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Steve McDaniel, (615) 741-0750, rep.steve.mcdaniel@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Debra Moody, (615) 741-3774, rep.debra.moody@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Dennis Powers, (615) 741-3335, rep.dennis.powers@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Jay D. Reedy, (615) 741-7098, rep.jay.reedy@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Johnny Shaw, (615) 741-4538, rep.johnny.shaw@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Art Swann, (615) 741-5481, rep.art.swann@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. John Mark Windle, (615) 741-1260, rep.john.windle@capitol.tn.gov
Website Builder